Prac – Sometimes it feels like I’m just keeping my head above the water

Standard

tired

Hi everyone,

Well, it’s been a monster 2 weeks, with an even bigger one ahead. Though there is light at the end of the tunnel. Even though I am enjoying my prac (the students are a great bunch of kids and my mentor is very helpful), I have to say I’m wearing down. It truly is an exhausting process, which hasn’t been helped at all by a really bad head cold in week 1, and an allergic reaction to something which I’m trying to figure out (as I don’t have time to see a doctor at the moment). I have pin pointed it to 2 possible reactors, one of which is the vitamins I have started taking to keep me going (fuel for prac). I haven’t taken them for a couple of days, and I’ve got to say I’m feeling it today. So, I’ve taken one this morning and if the reaction returns I’ll know it’s the vitamins.

Anyway, enough about rashes and allergic reactions. I really want to rant about something else (this is a whining post, SORRY). The implementation of ICTs into lessons. Although I have been using the interactive whiteboard to display powerpoints and enlarge worksheets for students, I must admit I have not been using ICTs in my lessons as much as I probably should have. It is hard to use ICTs as I am in a Year 1 class who need as much practice with their handwriting as they can get. BUT, the History assessment task I am implementing for the students does include using PhotoStory on the laptops, so there will be ICTs involved!

I’m glad to say that I’m not the only one who is having difficulty implementing ICTs into their teaching this Prac, as this blog post by Ellie indicates.

Fingers crossed that we all make it through this HUGE week 3. Just 5 long days (and nights) to go everybody!

Until next time!

About rubylou72

I am a mother of 4, and I am about to begin the final year of my Bachelor of Education in Primary degree. I created this blog as a requirement of the university course: EDC3100 - ICT & Pedagogy, and it will contain the experiences and learning of ICTs gained during my participation in this course.

Leave a Reply

